Medicaid Accountable Care Organization Learning Collaborative

Publication Year: 2012
Population Focus: Medicaid beneficiaries
Intervention Type: Education
Type of Literature: Grey


Insights Results

Overview of article

  • The Medicaid Accountable Care Organization (ACO) Learning Collaborative (LC) assisted states in developing and launching their Medicaid ACO programs through interactions with federal and state policymakers
  • Phase I focused on ACO LC in Massachusetts, Maine, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oregon, Texas and Vermont, setting the groundwork for a Medicaid ACO program specifically related to payment methodology, data systems and analysis and quality measurement
  • Phase II focused on the exploration of ways to integrate behavioral health, long-term supports and services, and social services into their programs, in addition to engaging safety net and rural providers. This phase also explored participation of dual-eligible population. States involved included Colorado, Massachusetts, Maine, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, Vermont and Washington
  • Phase III intended to help states develop and launch Medicaid ACO programs focusing on applying learnings and key design factors from lessons learned from other programs. States involved included Colorado, Iowa, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Rhode Island and Washington
  • Phase IV helped Medicaid agencies from DC, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Virginia and Washington to develop payment models, quality measurement strategies and data capacity to launch their Medicaid ACO programs